Chalk Painting the Fireplace

UPDATE: I have an Etsy shop! Come and check it out HERE!

When we moved into our home 2 years ago I knew that we would be changing the look of our fireplace. The time has come.

Our fireplace has brown grout and large faux stones in cream and orange-ish tones. I am looking for something more grey-white.

2015-07-23 16.08.042015-07-23 16.06.27 2015-07-23 16.06.54 2015-07-23 16.07.13We are on a budget so redoing the stonework is not an option at this point. But painting sure is!

I searched Pinterest and Google images and finally found someone with a similar fireplace who had completed a similar project. You can read more about that process here.

First I whitewashed a portion of the fireplace in white chalk paint. Home Depot was kind enough to share their recipe for making Chalk Paint, it is surprisingly easy and budget friendly!

IMG_5943DIY CHALK PAINT

1/3 cup of water

1/3 cup of Plaster of Paris

1 cup latex paint

I added an additional 1/3 cup of water to this chalk paint to create the whitewash effect.

Combine the water and Plaster of Paris. Stir until there are no lumps. Add the latex paint. Start painting!

IMG_5934I white-washed one side of the fireplace with white chalk paint in about an hour. It dried very quickly. I let it sit for a day so that I could take a look at it in a couple of different lighting situations. I decided almost right away that it was too light, too much orange and brown was showing through.

IMG_5938IMG_5957I headed back to Home Depot and grabbed 3 sample pots of paint in Behr’s Sparrow, Sterling and Anonymous. Sparrow was used in the blog I had read, and the other two colors were surrounding it on the sample sheet. I figured the two unused colors could help accent the stones and create some variation.

I didn’t add the additional 1/3 cup of water to the chalk paint. So at this point I was just chalk painting my fireplace instead of whitewashing it.

Here you can see the Sparrow color on the top and Sterling below.

IMG_5965Next it was time to try some accents on the stones to add some contrast. This is light Sterling on the dark Sparrow.IMG_5967

And here is dark Sparrow on the light Sterling (in the center section of painted rocks).

IMG_5968We really liked how Sterling looked with a bit of Sparrow brushed on. BUT the light Sterling just seemed too cold and too blue in the daylight (we paint in the evening).

I took another look at the options at Home Depot and decided to try Behr’s Gentle Rain.

What you can see below is Sterling on the left and Gentle Rain on the right (not quite dried). It is a subtle difference but Gentle Rain doesn’t have as much blue in it as Sterling.

IMG_5977Up next will be accenting the stones with darker and lighter shades of paint to create some contrast.

And then we plan replace the wood mantle and change the built-in shelving.

I’m excited for this transformation!

Love, Lou

Leave a Reply

